Do you remember who you were before the world told you who you should be?

I majored in escapism and self loathing

I doused myself in make up and called it armour

Pledged my allegiance to this instagram nation

And told myself I could embrace alienation

But my nails were digging graves into the palms of my hands

 

I learned that my body was a battleground

My greatest ally – my mind

My greatest enemy – my mind

I screamed my war cries into the bathroom mirror every night and picked up the pieces of myself every morning like extracting hair from a shower drain

And my nails were digging graves into the palms of my hands

 

I looked for love and got two new followers on twitter

I wanted to be free but I wrote in my diary that I wanted to die

They taught me to rage against my thighs and flinch at the sight of my own reflection

But never taught me how to rage against the world

So my nails dig graves into the palms of my hands

 

I am a girl whose eyes hide tides

And whose cries form knives

But who lies despised

By the self on which she relies

 

So my fists will stay clenched

And my palms laid bare

And I will continue to bury myself within myself

As my nails dig graves into the palms of my hands

 

Leave a Reply

